Lara’s World


Snowball Angel: nifty scrap crochet project to Bust That Stash!
December 13, 2006, 9:06 pm
Filed under: Crochet, Crochet Creations, Crochet Journey

My dear friend lost her beloved puppy last week, a 14-year-old Bichon Frise’ named Snowball. And she lost her quite traumatically, as Snowball woke her and her husband by having a seizure and stroke in their bed around 3:00 a.m. Luckily, Mary was able to hold her buddy as she was given a shot at the wonderful Angell Memorial Hospital.

Needless to say, it has been and will be a tough holiday season for Mary, and I wondered what I could do to bring her some comfort. I’ll see her next when a few of us gather at her house on Friday evening, to commune and create some peace for ourselves in this hectic season. To recall the sacred amidst the rest of it. We’ll drink eggnog, eat Mary’s Norwegian cookies, and perhaps crochet and knit “into the mystery” a bit. Or maybe just sit around and gab. And drum and chant and sing.

So back to the matter at hand; how to bring some comfort?? A picture had been forming in my mind, and I looked around and played around a little bit as the fairies remind us to do, and pretty soon I had this:

Vision firmly in my grasp, so to speak, I plunged ahead, adding fur to the little snowball, and sewing on its pink heart wings, and finally a little pink shimmery bow ’cause to be honest, Snowball was a girly-dog. And eventually, we arrived here:

Creams and Pinks and angels are right up Mary’s alley. I will confess to being an angel fan too. πŸ™‚
Want to see the wings from another angle? Ok already!


It’s so nice to play around in the creative space with no pressure to produce. I hope I’ll do it more often. I’ll let you know how it is received, when I can.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a beautiful gift for your friend Mary – a truly lovely gesture! πŸ™‚

— Michelle

Comment by Michelle

Thanks Michelle. πŸ™‚

Comment by songdeva

That is the nicest thing to do! I totally love it!

Comment by another Michelle!

Thanks Michelle 2!
Side note: If you are missing a Michelle, you might be able to find her at Lara’s World. πŸ™‚

Comment by songdeva




Leave a Reply

