Lara’s World


Feltmergency!!
December 19, 2006, 2:20 pm
Filed under: Crochet, Crochet Journey

Ok. I realize that during my first felting attempt, I was thrown temporarily off-course by an unexpected superwash incident. So for this, my sophomore run, I made a bag in Patons Dark Walnut and Rosewood with a pretty cream band accented on the ends by two burgundy bobbles. Well, everything felted beautifully…’cept for the cream.


I have two felted bobbles in the middle of unfelted cream.


The cream wool was a chunky 100% wool, Joanne’s brand, that made no mention of being superwash anywhere on the label. I’m hopping mad. Ok, not really, but I am aggravated! This is my sister-in-law’s Christmas present! And yes, today is the 19th. Of December. (See date of post.)

I’m on my way now to post an emergency help request on Crochetville .

If you were gonna fix it, what would you do??
I’ll update as developments…develop.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lara,

Unfortunately, there’s no way to fix a bag that was made wiht Superwash, except to frog it and start over with something that felts (like Patons’ Fisherman yarn that you can dye any color you want with unsweetened Kool-aid, fabric dyes like Ritz, food coloring, or some ;type of protein fiber dye). I feel badly for you because I’ve gone through this myself.

Superwashed wool is processed wtih chemicals that keep the wool from shrinking and it is a permanent process, so you’re SOL.

Another thing is that when you knit or crochet an item, then felt it, it’s called Fulling because you are filling the holes between and within the stitches, hence why your bobbles felted.

Felting is used for this, but true felting is when you have wool or another fiber that felts (angora, mohair, wool, alpaca, camel, dog hair, cat hair, etc.) and you use a wash board (or use pressure and fabric, agitate it or use needles) and hot soapy water and create a piece of felted fabric or items (like the felted sculpures, hats, masks, dolls, etc). You can shortcut the felted matt by buying real wool felt (to make hats, for instance) and starting from there to make purses or pillows or a wall hanging by using needle felting techniques to change it as you want.

There’s so much to create when you use fibers, if you use the correct fibers. Superwash seems to be the latest of the trends that I’m not so sure is a good trend, except that there are fewer felted socks and sweaters. I hope that this doesn’t become a huge trend within the wool producers because the felters and fullers will have a hard time finding what they need it does become the prevalent wool in the markets and LYS’s. Not only is that a bad thing, but the chemicals they use to create SUperwash wool harms the environment and that is not a very nice thing to do.

Personally speaking, I don’t even like buying dyed yarn because it’s not good for the environment either, but we are human and need our colors/colours to keep us cheerful and happy. I try to use natural dyes, but it really doesn’t matter as the chemicals you use to make the natural dyes are very dangerous as well as the synthetic dyes. So, it’s a dozen of one or half dozen of the other in terms of dangers to the environment. So, I tend to stick with natural-colored wools than dyed wools. The animals I have vary from white, ivory and browns to moorit (a reddish brown in Icelandic sheep), to grays and blacks and all the colors in between. There are 23 distinct colors in Icelandic sheep, 28 in alpacas not including the Pintos and Spotted ones, and white/black of the Finns.

I love making yarn from my Icelandics that are spotted, mouflon or have other distinctive color patterns because when I spin them from the lock, I get a naturally beautiful, self-striping yarn that makes very elegant sweaters and other garments. It’s one of the reasons why I learned to spin…to make unique yarns that are all my own.

Let me know if you’d like some samples and I’ll send you 2-4 of the colors about 1/2 ounce each. Enough to do small felting projects with anyway…and I’ll include 1/2 ounce or so of some of my wool and alpaca yarn.

Comment by spinningdiva

hiya – i know this is after the fact, however in looking at the picture – i’d wonder whether you
couldn’t choose a complimentary color (or beige to match) in the upper and lower type yarn that you know worked well. anyway maybe crochet over and into that beige yarn which would add bulk, tie it in strong, and wash the same all over evenly. in other words, just incorporate more yarn into the badly affected area. if the project is a scrap anyway it might be worth a try. fake it and be creative with the hook. see what comes up. some of the best turned projects sometimes just evolve…good luck.

Comment by rosey

Thanks for the comments and suggestions! I ended up machine-lining the bag…er…my mom did. πŸ™‚ I’ll ask my SIL to send a photo, and update you all! πŸ™‚

Comment by songdeva




Leave a Reply

