Lara’s World


Creation and Frustration…On the Lam from the Knitting Police
January 11, 2007, 10:47 pm
Filed under: conscious co-creation, Crochet, knitting, Life, metaphysics, singer, vocalist

Well, I’ve taken pictures that I just don’t feel like loading for posting here. And I have to get over the idea that I need pictures to post. So there, I’m over it.

Not a day for crochet today. I’m making a tank with super-bulky yarn and the directions are a little funky. And I seamed 3 pieces together wrong and then redid them. By the time I redid them and had decided which way I was going to interpret the funky directions, I was disgusted with the whole thing and decided to put it away! Sheesh.

So I visited with my dog and then decided to pick up my Backyard Leaves scarf, which is advanced for me, and a fabulous too rich turquoise (so appropriate for the throat chakra) and for which I had knitted the 8 setup rows (and it took about 8 tries if I recall correctly. Probably not a day most people would recommend I pick it up again, what say?) At any rate, as I went along, there were maybe two areas where I wondered if I had corrected a flub or two…correctly. And I got to a point where I just said, you know what, this is MY scarf and MY merino wool and MY project. And as a wise new friend at a knitting group said last night, THERE ARE NO KNITTING POLICE!!

No matter how it looks it will keep my neck warm, and really I just want to be with the experience of knitting and being immersed in this intense healing color. Yes turquoise is healing. All colors are.

And finally, I’m not an uncreative chick. I will end up with something that I like no matter how I get there. I won’t end up with a tangled mess hanging from my throat. Sheesh. And maybe instead of Backyard Leaves I’ll end up with Front Yard Leaves or Park Leaves or some other leaves, which will, I’ll have you know, be just as good as any other leaves.

So I knitted 4 rows and left it at that. I’m planning to write out the chart for myself. I mean, a blank box is a K on RS and a P on WS and vice versa for a dot. How bout a blank box is a knit and a dot is a purl? Why get all stupid? *grumble*

I was just a bit on the edge today anyway. I did mile two of Runagogo with Daisy Dog by my side. And I got some singing in. Do we love our Nano? We DO. We have vocal warmups and vocal exercises and backup tracks loaded on and it’s a vocal studio in a…tiny little ipod box. I can also run tracks through my mixer from my ipod for recording or performing. This last tidbit is for you music types that might still be carting around a laptop. I’d love a live band, but this is BUTTAH in the meantime.

And it occurs to me that the only way I can truly dispel that jittery energy is through singing, whether finding a song that seems right, writing one, or just singing the energy, i.e. spirit singing.
This is because I am a singer. How do you equalize?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

