Lara’s World


Warm Up America…with a basket weave square
January 20, 2007, 7:54 pm
Filed under: Crochet, knitting, yarn

I went out to the Worcester MA AC Moore today to check out the “big yarn sale” and more importantly, to crochet or knit a square for Warm Up America. Since I am a more experienced crocheter than a knitter, I chose to crochet my 7″X9″ square in a thick and hearty basketweave stitch. I’d been dying to try this stitch for a while, so I was pleased as punch. The yarn, Phoenix, one of several provided by the store, was a delicious deep violet. If you are looking for a warm fabric, this is the stitch to go for, y’all.

The blankets will be stitched up next week, and will be distributed to local folks in need, which is kinda cool.

I did score some sugar’n’cream cotton in Hot Lime, Hot Blue and Grape.
A skein of Paton’s Merino in Taupe, and two of Caron Simply Soft in Iris. Some stitch markers, a fabric shaver, a small tote with palm trees on it ($2!)…. In short, I upgraded my yarn trinket collection, while contributing to peace in the world.

I’m going back to get the grommet pliers for 50% off next week. Usually when I felt a bag and add grommets, you’ll find me out on my porch, with various tools to poke a hole through the bag, my grommet stud and anchor, and a hammer. It’s a pain in the butt, and it’s a little cold for that right now. And I expect to be felting up a storm for the spring craft fairs, at which I expect to be selling!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks so much for your info about the air travel. I’m so glad to know I can bring my crochet stuff with me on board. I love to read but it’s four hours and I know I’m going to need a break at some point. 🙂

Comment by mom24bbs




Leave a Reply

