Lara’s World


Calorimetry…no longer a knitting virgin
January 23, 2007, 9:32 am
Filed under: knitting, yarn

Here it is!
I’m now part of the knitting craze for calorimetry. What can I say? I get a kick out of pop culture. Sometimes. I also get a kick out of the fact that I knitted something. And almost followed a pattern. Or should I say, I’m just thrilled that my novice pattern editing worked, thanks in part to various online boards that are knitting this together. Most seemed to do it in about 3 hours. It took me more like 5. But I have now knitted something, and a useable, wearable object!! I’ve knit a wearable; who knew? I think this counts as clothing. It’s not a rectangle, that’s fer sure.

In fact, isn’t it cool? The variegation here really worked funkily. It looks like a big pink and brown eye. Here, come closer:

I should note for you that what looks like a cream color on my screen is actually a tan, or cafe au lait. I used Paton’s Classic Merino yarn in Rosewood, left over from my Sis-in-law’s Christmas gift. I had another skein and I’d been coveting it. And after one calorimetry, there’s still enough for about 4 more calorimetries. Or a neck warmer.

When I was done, I sewed a bright turquoise abalone button on to one end. At least if I go to a CaloFestival, mine won’t get confused with anyone else’s. Now, finally, of course you have to see it on:
Now if you’re curious, I threw my hair up into a (very casual) twist, and allowed the ends to do as they pleased, which, in my case, is to curl like crazy. Voila’! I am now dressed to walk dogs with the best of them. I will confess to being so proud that I wore it around my house the first day. And the second. And possibly still do on occasion although this is unconfirmed.

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your calorimetry! I’m making some for friends, too, with all my leftovers.

Comment by Raeknits!_and_spins

That’s a great colorway. And I’m so jealous of your curlsโ€ฆ Great work!

Comment by Kemtee

Looks like a big kiss ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by knitting-cat

Thanks guys! Omigod! It *does* look like a big kiss! I’m inordinately pleased by this observation.

Comment by songdeva

Nice job!!! I love how the colors turned out in it! I gotta do mine soon!!

Comment by Zonda

Pretty! Now I definately need to make one of these. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Wendy

Looks great! Now if I could just get mine finished I’d be part of the craze too! ps. I’m jealous of those curls!

Comment by Bobbi

So that’s what a calorimetry is! Now if I could just wrap my tongue around the correct pronunciation, I’d be set. Lol. Thanks for the tip, it’s awesome, I’m def going to put that on my list of things to knit or die trying. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Molly

I love the way yours came out…great work!

Comment by beverly

Very nice – I like the mix of the pinks and browns.

Comment by Jo

Hi Lara- your creation looks Great! Would you mind letting us know what edits you made to the pattern? I’m working on my own right now with Noro silk Garden and I’m afraid it might not be the right size because the yarn is heavier than called for in the pattern. I also read online forums and decided to cast on 80 stitches. (crossing my fingers) Thanks!

Comment by Julie

Hi Julie! I cast on 90 stitches and worked short rows until I had about 4-8 stitches remaining in the center (v. different from the pattern number). Also, I did a long tail cast on, but ran out of (end) yarn for the cast on, so along about the middle, I switched to a knitted cast-on, end result being that one of my ends to be woven in was in the middle of the Calo. I was danged if I was gonna rip it out and cast on all those stitches again. ๐Ÿ™‚ So anyway, it worked, and I still had the one end in the right place to use to sew on my button. And thanks to all of you for stopping by and leaving your wonderful comments!

Comment by songdeva

Great job! Love the colors, but wondering if it’s itchy…?

Thanks! Not itchy at all, as it generally doesn’t touch my skin (doesn’t bother my ears) and I haven’t
washed/blocked it yet, though I will soon.

Comment by sarasvatiswan

Hey, great work Lara! As it happens, I knitted one of these from the same pattern as a gift for my best friend Emilie! I think they are completely cool! Your color choice is very warm and wonderful.

Trish
etrish.wordpress.com

Comment by etrish

Just wondering if you have the pattern for this.
I would love to make it.

Comment by cathy

The pattern is available free at knitty.com and on Ravelry.com

Comment by songdeva




Leave a Reply

