Lara’s World


Pattern: Pink Fluttery Cowl Scarf (crochet)
December 4, 2007, 5:05 pm
Filed under: Crochet, free crochet patterns

I made this scarf last winter, and figured the pattern was too easy to post…but you know what? You wouldn’t believe how frequently someone comes to my page via search terms like “crochet cowl scarf” or “cowl scarf pattern.” If you like this one and would like to make it, who am I to stop you??

It is wicked wicked soft (welcome to wicked Boston), and looks really great done. The yarn combination is one that just really works. And this I tell you as someone who doesn’t usually go for the fun fur. Well, I suppose this is more like an eyelash yarn, which ups its cool points somewhat. (Yes, it does!) Here’s what ya’ do:

Materials:
1 Ball Lion Brand Moonlight Mohair “I think I used Coral Reef…”
1 Ball Red Heart Kiss in a pale pink
P Hook

Instructions:

Chain 19

1.Double Crochet in 4th Chain from hook, and in each chain across (16 DC across)

(*1st Chain 3 counts as one DC throughout)

2. Repeat row 1 until one or the other of your yarns runs out (my Moonlight Mohair lasted longer than my RH Kiss).

2b. Or consider a row of sc every once in a while if you like.

3.Pull remaining yarn through loop to finish (don’t cut).

4. Use remaining attached yarn to sew the ends together. Make sure rights sides are facing each other on the inside of the scarf before you sew.

5. Weave in ends and turn so right side is now on outside.

6. Put it on and realize that you won’t be giving it away for the Holidays after all.

Note: Experienced crocheters can have this gift done in 30 minutes or less. I would think most folks can get it done in under 2 hours – even beginners! And believe me, you will feel so/em> accomplished.

Enjoy everybody!

See closeup of scarf here.

Copyright 2006.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Pattern: Pink Fluttery Cowl Scarf (crochet) […]

Pingback by A charitable effort (or: Pink fluttery cowl scarf) « Lara’s World

[…] Pattern: Pink Fluttery Cowl Scarf (crochet) I made this scarf last winter, and figured the pattern was too easy to post…but you know what? You wouldn’t […] […]

Pingback by Top Posts « WordPress.com

I made one pretty much like this but I used HDC and used Red Heart Plush with a varigated Red Heart Super Saver varigated. I love the way it works up and the way it feels.

Comment by Claysdee

lol…guess what my search terms were!

yes, i’m that predictable x

Comment by cakemix




Leave a Reply

